Ham Hill and Pittards RR

A chilly start and 80 cat3 riders took to the rolling course for 90km of racing, the pace was high and the peloton covered the first 40km under the hour, a few breaks got going but never getting more than 1 min advantage the peloton was very active but with every ascent of the main climb the front group gradually got smaller. The last lap was a very erratic one with a few near crashes and plenty of rider commentary, the finishing climb was unknown and as we approached the final LH turn the speed was high at 40mph, brakes on, carbon rims screeching, tyres skidding and various shouts the sprint lit up as we exited the turn. It was a long accent of about 800m and many riders went early only to fade, it was a case of chasing wheels and maintaining momentum unitl finish line insight. All in all a great course and well organised by Yeovil CC.

Tom Stocker:
The race was much faster than last year. My plan was to sit in and wait for the sprint at the end. Unfortunately I got stuck on the wrong side of a split on one of the shorter climbs. Worked with the others I was with but we didn’t manage to get back to the main bunch. Lessons learnt.

Chris Courage:
Glad to have made the various splits well positioned into final turn but slight hesitation lost me a top 5 but very happy with 10th after 2 days of tough racing

Sunday, 19 April 2015

Ham Hill, Pittards RR, Brief Results

Results – Ham Hill Road Races

Ham Hill E/1/2/3

1. Marcin Bialoblocki, One Pro Cycling

2. Pete Williams, One Pro Cycling

3. Will Bjergfelt, SportGrub Kuota

4. Will Fox, Pedal Heaven RT

5. George Harper, One Pro Cycling

6. Adria Moreno Sala, Starley Primal Pro Cycling

7. James Lewis, NFTO

8. Tom Baylis, One Pro Cycling

9. Deacon Cutterham, CGC Ride 24/7

10. Lee Frost, TriUK

Pittards Trophy Road Race Category 3/4

1. Kurt Green, Sodbury Cycle Sport

2. Philip Collins, Tavistock Wheelers

3. Max Webber, Abbotts Ann Cycles

4. Ben Lockett, Tri UK

5. Ryan Weston, Poole Wheelers

6. Hugh Knudsen, Team Tor 2000

7. Ben Strain, Radeon Cycle Coaching

8. George Smith, Gillingham & District Wheelers

9. Graham Roberts, Tavistock Wheelers

10. Chris Courage, Bournemouth Jubilee Wheelers

via Local Riders,Local Races: April 2015.