BJW 82nd Prize Presentation Evening

The Bournemouth Jubilee Wheelers 2017 Prize Presentation Evening was held at the Stocks Inn, Furzehill on Saturday 11th November.

The evening was opened with a few words from the Guest of Honour – Barbara Wareing who thanked the club for the support the club had given her and the send off we had given her husband Bob (the club’s long standing TT secretary) who sadly passed away earlier this year.

A moments silence was spent remembering Bob and other club members we had lost this year (Peter Boston, Dennis Trevisone, and John Mortimer).

The members shared cycling stories and plans for next season over an excellent 3 course meal before the prize giving.

The prize giving was opened by President Peter Warhurst who reiterated what a friendly club BJW is and welcomed our new members.

Thank you to Kev Ridge who organised the excellent evening at a venue with great food, service and atmosphere.

Andy & Louisa Cooper – Winners of Founders Cup – First Open Event Win (at B&DWCA TTT)
Louisa also won – Women’s Fastest 25 Cup, Wilfred Watton Memorial Womens 10 Cup
Andy also won – Jubilee Cup Fastest Mens 25

John Samways winner of William Taylor Cup Mens Best TT All Rounter, Royal Enfield Cup Fastest 50, Golden Jubilee Trophy Scracth Points Series, Fastest Team in BJW Open 25 (with Matt Rollinson and Adrian Murray), Ray Price Trophy Fastest on Local 24M Course, Boyland Trophy Multi Events Comp. A modest haul compared to previous years!

Bob Richardson winner Tom Shepherd Cup Hill Climb Winner

Chris Simpson – Douglas Bishop Memorial Cup Best Novice

Will Soloman – Cyclo Cross Trophy Highest Place in Wessex League

Dave Mansfield – 21st Anniversary Award for Service to the Club

Reliability Ride Medal Winners

Special Reliability Award to John O’Brien for completing all four Reliability Trials on a Trike